Indecisiveness =Clutter & Chaos

I read the following quote the other day.

“Clutter is just delayed decisions–simple as that. Make a few extra decisions a day and you can chip away at the clutter and chaos.”

I thought, this makes sense, that’s why I haven’t finished my office or the rest of the upstairs I just haven’t made up my mind of how I want to organize it. 

I went ahead and started my other daily activities which included checking in on the daily news and stock market performance around mid afternoon….As I was browsing the day’s headlines there was an article with a title (imagine I lost the exact title) something like “when trying  to organize, stay away from stores like the “Container Store.”  I wondered why, if you are trying to get organized, would you not want to have containers…so of course I had to click to read the article…..imagine my surprise when I read the following:

“When you go to organize you usually find you need to de-clutter. If you buy more containers thinking you will get organized you usually end up with just more clutter because you just have more stuff sitting in your way.   Remember clutter is just delayed decisions–simple as that. Make a few extra decisions a day and you can chip away at the clutter and chaos. You don’t need more stuff, just make more decisions and stick to them.”

WHOA!!!!!!!  Okay, you, my Great Heavenly Father have my attention, what am I suppose to see here.  I felt He was saying “think about it sweetheart, think about your life right now.”

I use to be one of the most organized people.  I could juggle many tasks at a time, nothing was ever late and I always knew right where everything was, no matter how trivial.  As an example, I could find a grocery receipt from months ago because I had a place I kept all grocery receipts.  As a toddler I was taught the phrase “A place for everything and everything in its place.” that was the motto in our home and my parents business as I grew up. 

I almost always knew what I wanted to be doing with my life, what I was going to fix for dinner, plans were made days, weeks or months in advance. I was never late, never double booked, and rarely had to say “no” to anything.  I was very determined and head strong.   I couldn’t stand clutter, I wanted things picked up and put away.

I use to hear, from a few people how obnoxious or rude I could be or hard to get along with.  I was too independent, too bossy to demanding.  I remember always wondering why I couldn’t be the sweet, quiet, laid back type person that just went with the flow and never made any waves.  Maybe then people would like me better.

Wow, how things change……as things stand today:

I don’t have one room in my house that doesn’t have clutter in it, I am always late, I am constantly misplacing things, I have to cancel plans or wait until the very last minute to make plans, I can’t even decide what to cook for dinner or where to go for dinner if we are going out.  I feel like I have to do a poll around my house asking the question “what sounds good for dinner.”  Tony swears he is going to invent “I don’t know” because he would become rich just from the amount of times I say it every day.

So what’s going on with me?  I had a friend tell me that several years ago when they were laid off was the time they were able to get closest to God and was the time they fell head over heels for Him.  Is that what I’m supposed to be doing?  I’ve been praying for years for a love and passion for Him like I’ve never had before.

I tell people I feel like I have wasted a year of my life.  It was a year ago this past March when I closed my office.  It will be a year on July 2 when I was diagnosed with Thyroid cancer.  People tell me the time wasn’t wasted I was sick and I’m still trying to recover.  I can agree with that, but at the same time when will I get myself back or maybe the better questions is will I get back?  Granted I would like to be a better person on the other side of this than I was before, but I have to figure this out.

The thing is, I know I can’t do this alone….I have to have my Heavenly Dad to do this….the problem I won’t hang with Him long enough to let Him do His work.  I do well for a time reading my Bible and praying every day, going to sleep listening to different podcasts on my IPod such as Frances Chan, Chuck Swindoll, James McDonald and many others….then all of a sudden I miss a day, then two, then it continues until the next thing I know it is several weeks later and I haven’t spent near the time with God that I had been.

Hmmmm sounds like everything else. I go to bed on Sunday nights with a plan on how I can be caught up by the end of the week….then comes Friday and guess what…I’ve barely dealt with issues that came up that week, let alone with things I’m behind on. 

Okay…..so where do I start…..how do I quit always second guessing every decision and just stick with something? I mean I really think God has been telling me for two years to write but I wouldn’t listen.  Then last October I started blogging finally, again, I posted a few then I quit.  It wasn’t that ideas didn’t come to me, they did, and I just wouldn’t follow up on them.

Maybe the word I always ask God for at the beginning of the year just came a little later.  I blogged before that last year the word He gave me was “fear.”  Since I hadn’t dealt with many of them as of the beginning of this year I just assumed we were still going to be working on them and we have been (more to come on that later) so maybe now it seems we are changing to clutter & chaos.

Now that I have went against the major rule of keeping the blog short so others will stay interested, let me ask you this do you have clutter in your life?  How do you deal with it?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Pierce
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 22:12:38

    Danaye, I like this. I think you were writing my story. Type A personality then 5 kids later and one round of Uterine cancer equals a life of disorganization. The CLUTTER!!! I too struggle, I want so much more with God. I know there is so much more to have and if I could just get it in my schedule I could see Heaven open up. I think the point you are missing and I missed for so long is that God honors our want. He knows life gets us down but wanting Him means so much to him. So…ask yourself this. What advice would you give me if I had wrote this and then follow your own advice. The other day my youngest son sat on my lap the entire day. My husband came home and asked my what I had done all day. I was embarrased to say nothing. But then God spoke softly and loudly to me. I had done so much that day. I had loved my little boy like no one ever will. I hadn’t cleaned but I can do that for the rest of my life. I realized I had accomplished so much that day. I believe if you love God and your family you are getting more then you realize from God. We’ll have time to clean the clutter when those kids leave home. Enjoy God and the family he has loaned to you for this time. 🙂

    Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Apr 21, 2010 @ 08:56:30

      Kim,

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. It is great that God knows our heart and doesn’t punish us because we don’t always do as we should. It’s great that He will help us along since He knows what we want to do.

      I think it is great what you were able to do with your son the other day, I miss that time with Kierstyn. Of course with her 16, as you know with your older children, there are other ways you can spend the day with them and although you may miss the younger times, you can enjoy the new relationship with them.

      Thanks again for the comments. I hope you have a great weekend.

      Reply

  2. Bill (cycleguy)
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 03:19:50

    I have so many things to say so I will just start by saying, “What? You don’t listen to me at night when you go to sleep? Guaranteed to put you into a coma-like sleep.” 🙂 Okay, now that I have been serious let’s joke. Nope, wrong way. I think you are no different than many of us. Filled with good intentions but then reality hits and you find yourself just that-filled with good intentions. After my recent neck surgery I was going to take it easy. I was going to read and study the next three weeks. I was going to catch up on my sleep (which you can’t really do anyway) and just take it easy. Then life hit and then my work ethic kicked in and wouldn’t allow me to take it easy. No matter the pain or discomfort. Yes, it is good to slow down because generally it is in the slow down that God speaks and we hear. But I have also found that it is in the speed of life that He sometimes gets my attention. And usually that is to tell me to slow down. See a pattern here? God will speak in the slow down, in the speed of life, in the clutter, in the chaos…if we want to hear and know Him. My advice (which I know you didn’t ask for) is don’t beat yourself up so much. C.S.Lewis once wrote: “God whispers to us in our joy but shouts to us in our pain.” (It may not be word for word). Pain is a magnifier of God’s voice. Even through all your chaos He is saying, “I love you Danay’e. The clutter is temporary. My love for you is permanent. Rest in that.” So…now I have gone against the #2 rule of blogging…long responses. 🙂 Sorry I rambled but felt you needed to hear you are okay AND NORMAL! Daily prayers are said for you.

    Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Apr 21, 2010 @ 14:20:22

      Bill,
      Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment. You always provide me with great things to think about and ideas of how I should be looking at things. As you have known for several years I always feel like I have the best intentions, its just been my follow-up where I feel I have let things go so much this past year or so. I do want to thank you for reminding me that I’m human and okay. I don’t mind long responses and I never think you ramble!!!

      Also, I can only listen to you once a week from the website because it doesn’t archive the older ones and I only have the sermon series 10 on cd….now if you want to figure out a way to get one of the tech guys (Ryan or Chris) to make it so I can get each one set up without wiping out all of the memory on my computer I would listen to you more often…:) Now, laying all kidding aside, listening to your sermons would not put me to sleep….they bring a lot of comfort and I enjoy listening to them when I can.

      Reply

  3. Sally C.
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 14:17:12

    Danaye—How appropriate that you write about clutter on my birthday!! You know that I struggle with this issue, too. I used to blame my house, my schedule or my health, but I’ve come to realize that it is partly an emotional issue, too. So I’ve tried to work on the spiritual and emotional “clutter” in my life, asking Jesus to come into each area and help me “clean it up”. Remember the Kelly Minter study about Idols? Maybe we should start a Clutters Annonymous club?! Love, Sally

    Reply

    • Bill (cycleguy)
      Apr 21, 2010 @ 16:35:56

      Good thought Sally. I think we would all find certain aspects of our lives in disarray because of other things. 🙂

      Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 00:11:00

      Sally,

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment. I never thoughtabout that post coming out on your birthday, sorry. Happy belated birthday by the way. I had forgotten about the Kelly Minter study, but I agree with the Clutter club…I wonder if we could get by with keeping it annonymous 🙂 Probably not since it seems like there are many that are dealing with the issue. Love, Danay’e

      Reply

Leave a Reply

