Do Our Daily Conversations Make us Sad and Paranoid?

I live in a very small community. It is one of the towns where news travels very fast, although not always accurate, and if you don’t personally know someone, more than likely you have at least heard a story about them or their family.  With all the gossiping that takes place in the town, I decided I really wanted to try to not be a contributor, which isn’t always easy considering there are some grand, amazing stories that are told from time to time, again just not always completely accurate.  Anyway, I have tried to spend more time listening and less time talking. 

For those of you that know me, that last statement above will be a shock.  For those that have been around me a lot, you may be thinking if this is spending less time talking, I would hate to see what her normal talking amount has been.  Anyway, I have done this in many circumstances to pay more attention to what people say in their daily conversations.  As I listen to so many people each day I amazes me how much negativity people speak and the amount of paranoia they include.  This even happens within my home among various family members.  In doctor’s offices or various community events you hear people talking about all the negative news stories or “just what this world is coming to.” Among smaller groups you get to hear things such as 1)why someone doesn’t like another person, 2) Did you hear so & so has done……, 3) Well I know the only reason he/she/they did this was to get back at me, or because they think I did such and such 10 years ago, and things just go on and on.

Let’s face it, do most people sit at home or work and spend their time thinking of how they can make a student, parent or another person’s day bad that particular day?  I don’t see a teacher, family member or boss sitting at home at night spending their time thinking “I want little Tommy to have a bad day tomorrow so what can I do to him.”

We all know there are many problems within the world today.   No matter what your belief about the end times, I think most agree we are in those days or close to it, even if God doesn’t return for another thousand years, the world is much different today than it was 10, 20, 30 or 40 years ago.  We also know that gossiping is wrong and we know that we shouldn’t participate.  Many people want to blame the media, and they certainly deserve their fair share, but would they write/tell it if the public didn’t buy it?

The point I’m making is could it be people are so sad and unhappy because of the people they associate with?  Could it be if people turned off the news, stopped the gossiping and found more pleasant things to discuss they may find themselves happier?  I have found, much to the distaste of some family members, I am saying “it’s not always about you” more and more often to help remind them the world isn’t out to get them.

What are your thoughts?

I have more thoughts on this subject, how it may relate to medical issues and most importantly what God says on this matter.  I hope to write more about it as I spend the next few weeks in preparation for follow-up scans and possible further cancer treatments.  I would appreciate any prayers you will say on my behalf.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill (cycleguy)
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 05:21:59

    You know me: I always have something to say. 🙂 Actually, I am trying hard to listen more and talk less. I was with some folks this past week in which I said absolutely nothing but listen. (Cue here for the old Jim Nabors’ “surprise…”) I do believe our ability to talk less and listen more has a ton to do with whom we hang around. Being from the same small town you are, I know exactly what you are talking about. No doubt the world would be a much better place if we listened more, talked less and strived to be more positive. You know prayers are always there.

    Reply

  2. Roxie
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 07:27:50

    We were talking about something similar this past weekend. 🙂 We were discussing how it seems people (in general) are looking at life from one direction when we would all be better off if we were looking at it from another direction. Change our focus. There has been a very sad development in society that seems to train us from childhood to think more often of ourselves rather than those around us and to think that somehow we “deserve” a better life than what we have. So our focus becomes a negative one….complaining all of the time. Picking on one another. Putting others down so we somehow feel better about ourselves. What if we all changed that focus? What if we all suddenly did an about face and decided YOU don’t deserve the life you have been given and what can I do to help YOU? What if we all tried to see the good in one another and to lift one another up? There was a quote I heard on tv the other day. Not much good comes from the tv, so this is worth repeating: “The things we do for ourselves die with us. The things we do for others live on forever.”

    Reply

  3. Cameyg
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 10:50:55

    Funny you should write about this subject now.. For the last several weeks – the parsonage in which we live has not had internet. My time on the computer has been greatly limited by that fact unless I’ve been able to walk across the street to our pcb (physical church building) where I am writing this from. I’ve really noticed that without that connection – I’ve not been as clued in to some things & individuals as I would normally be. This has proven both bad and good. Bad because they expect me to know things because of how I’ve listened to them on say.. facebook.. good because I’ve had a lot more time for prayer, studying my Bible, and for tons of RQM (really quiet moments).

    I’d rather listen any day than talk.. I look forward to what else you have to say on this. I look forward to chiming in as possible. And of course, dangerous prayers for you/yours.. Much love too!

    Reply

  4. Meg Groves Telligman
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 16:07:17

    Thank you for putting into words what I so often think. A positive attitude is so important. God bless you as you go forward. You are in my prayers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

