Missing Him & His Opportunities While Working My Plan

I read Tony York’s blog on April 21, 2010 and he ended it with this quote:

“Sometimes it is good not to reach the things that you are grasping after… you just might miss some pretty miraculous moments.”

If you want to read the entire post please visit here http://30secondrule.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/grasping-at-plan-a/

After reading his post I began to think about other things that had basically brought up the same issue recently.  There were songs such as Garth Brooks “Unanswered Prayer” and the Disney movie “Up” among many other things.  I started then to write this post but I couldn’t seem to finish it.  I’ve even written one or two other posts since starting this one and I just continued to let this one set. 

From time  to time I would stop and think about this same topic and wonder to myself how much I have missed out on because I have stayed so focused on my health and on the things I wanted to do in life (and wasn’t getting too now because of my health) instead of looking to see what God may be trying to teach me as I go through all the process.  Don’t get me wrong, I go through the motions, I mean I pray to God for “His will” to be done or for me to “hear Him” but yet I never stayed still long enough to wait to hear from Him.

Well to some degree  that has changed and in some pretty amazing ways.  It started periodically about two weeks before we left for vacation as I was reading a book my pastor gave me titled “Plan B”  by Pete Wilson (I can’t begin to say enough great things about this book and I’m not quite finished with  it yet).  During this time  I also attended the annual  Women of Faith Conference that several of the women from my church attend.   This continued while we were on vacation this past week, especially since we were in Florida and I am not allowed out in the sun and heat.  Anytime I would shut everything  else out and focus on time with God  He would reveal something to me or answer a question I  had been asking/pondering.

My pastor just wrote about something similar  here  http://billgrandi.ovcf.org/wordpress/?cat=14 today and he asked if God was everything to me?  Here was my response to that question:

“The sad news is He isn’t everything to me, although with all He has done for me, He should be. After the experiences He & I have had recently I want to do all I can to make Him everything to me. I don’t want to take a breath that I don’t make Him part of it.”

Over the next few days/weeks I hope He will allow me to share some of the things He has revealed to me and things I’m sure He will continue to reveal if I will shut the television, music, phone and any other distractions off occasionally. I bet especially  if  I would shut my mouth and open my ears & heart more, actually seeking Him and His will instead of just saying it.  I’m so excited 🙂

I’m curious are you slowing down and looking for all possible opportunities or are you rushing through each day with so many things “to do”  to carry out your plans and stay within your  schedule that you may be missing His opportunities?

Any ideas or suggestions on disciplining myself now that I am back home so I have more time with Him?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill (cycleguy)
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 03:25:12

    First, I think your title is a good one. I miss way too much because I am busy working “my” plan instead of listening to His. I am excited to hear what God has and will be teaching you. One suggestion I might make is block out a specific time of every day and say, “No visitors allowed.” Not husband, daughter, mother, Di, me (LOL), silence or shut off the phone, or anyone else. Make that your God-time. If someone interrupts be firm enough to say, “I am in my private time. It can hold till later” or something like that. Just a thought. You know I am praying for you!

    Reply

  2. Ike
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 11:05:29

    “Yes, He is very precious to you who believe!” – 1 Peter 2:7

    If Christ is truly precious to us—we shall prefer Him above every other object; He will have the chief place in our affections. The love which a Christian has to his Savior, penetrates and possesses his heart. This distinguishes it from the pretended love of hypocrites, which is only in word, or in some external actions, while their hearts are full of sinful self-love; so that it may be said of them, “This people honor Me with their lips, but their hearts are far from Me.”

    We may possibly delight in some objects of an inferior nature, as they contribute to our health, our ease, or our comfort. Our homes, our food, and our other temporal enjoyments are dear to us, because they minister to our comfort and convenience in the present life. But true love for Christ, does not allow any other object to hold the chief place in the heart. This chief place is for Jesus, whom we ought to love with supreme ardor. The choicest affections of our souls ought to be supremely fixed upon Him.

    As it is impossible for any man to love an unknown object—so it cannot be expected that Christ should be supremely precious unto us, unless we know Him to be excellent and desirable, beyond whatever may be compared with Him. We shall not esteem Him above all things—if we have not elevated views of His transcendent worth. Our esteem of Him rises in proportion to the knowledge we have of Him. Godly men therefore ardently desire to increase in the knowledge of Him—that their affections may be more intensely fixed upon Him.

    That love, which has but created things for its object, is degrading to the soul. It is a cleaving to that which can neither give happiness to our souls, nor repose to our minds. For to love any object ardently, is to seek our felicity in it, and to expect that it will answer our desires. It is to call upon it to fill that deep void which we feel in ourselves, and to imagine that it is capable of giving us the satisfaction we seek. It is to regard it as the resource of all our needs, the remedy of all the troubles which oppress us, and the source of all our happiness. Now, as it is God alone in whom we can find all these advantages, it is a debasing of the soul, it is idolatry to seek them in created objects! “I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ!” Philippians 3:8

    If Christ is truly precious to us—we shall be induced to devote our souls and our bodies, our talents, our abilities and our faculties—as a living sacrifice to Him. To contemplate His adorable perfections will be our highest joy. We shall be ready to obey Him—in opposition to all the threats and the solicitations of men. We shall rely upon Him, though all outward appearances seem to be against us. We shall rejoice in Him, though we have nothing else to comfort us. If we enjoy health and plenty, friends and reputation, the Lord is still the object of our earnest desires and our supreme delight. “Whom have I in heaven but you? There is none upon earth that I desire besides you! As the deer pants for the water-brooks, so longs my soul after you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God!”

    – John Fawcett

    Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Sep 16, 2010 @ 02:34:45

      Ike,

      Thank you for taking the time to stop in and reply. You have given me several things to think about, as I read some that were familiar to me, others, although I had heard in the past took on new meaning this time. I love that about God, no matter how many times you read something you can still get something new out of it.

      I hope you and your family are having a great week.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

