Living with Physical Pain

I’ve had several people ask what my fibromyalgia & Lupus pain is like but the problem is it is very hard to explain because it can vary so much from day to day and person to person. I decided using my blog was probably the best way to respond to those that have asked. I decided I would try to explain just the basic part of the pain of living with Lupus and Fibro without going into all the other problems that are a part of it or any of the other health issues many people have in addition to them.

Today and for the last few days mine has been more in the muscles which means it has been more from the fibro than the Lupus. One way to describe it is think about what it is like when you have a muscle spasm/cramp in your foot or calf (sometimes called charlie horse) now imagine that in your arm, neck, back, when you breath you can have them in your ribs. I’ve been having them around my ribs and lung area along with my stomach area around my spleen/liver area as well as in my feet, legs, hands, neck and back. This also leaves you with a great headache usually as well. The problem is with these they can’t be massaged out. If someone is available they can help with the hands, arms, neck or leg area, but with the internal ones around the heart, ribs, lungs, etc…there isn’t anything you can do….muscle relaxers can help some but they rarely eliminate them completely they usually just help with the intensity of them. Now add in the Lupus pain and inflammation in the joints and the pain levels jump around every day. The pain can be tolerable one minute and excruciating the next depending on if it is a good day or bad one.

I’m just so grateful I am surrounded with fantastic, loving family and friends that try to understand something that is very hard and difficult to comprehend, if you have never dealt with it before. I’m also blessed to have medications that although it doesn’t take it away, it does help with the symptoms enough to make life worth living. Finally I serve an AWESOME GOD that is there with His strength, love and guidance with every breath I take and that is the ONLY way I can make it thought the nights like this one…PRAISE YOU, JESUS and Thank you for being with me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christysmilez
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 08:02:06

    I love ya girl….I totally understand and You know More than anything I wish I could help ease some of your pain…I think that with all this we should only have one problem at a time..not two or three dumped on us…just doesnt seem fair. I pray that today…comes with it lots of happiness and lots of pain free moments…that you feel good and enjoy the day! I love ya so much you know that…and your always on my mind!!!

    Reply

  2. bill (cycleguy)
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 06:05:26

    IMHO I don’t think anyone who has not experienced pain as you have (or anyone else) can truly grasp what a person goes through. I know I try but simply can’t. There are some things I do understand and know but I find there is so much I don’t. you know you are in my daily prayers as you struggle through this and other stuff.

    Reply

  3. Cherrylistic7
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 15:43:10

    I can SO relate you to, my friend. I too, suffer from Fibro. I also use my blog to write out my pain and share how God helps me through it. Maybe we can be an encouragement to eachother. We can definitely relate and understand one another. Gentle hugs to you, my new found friend. I hope that you have a great New Year ahead!

    ~Cherry

    Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Jan 07, 2011 @ 22:40:32

      Cherry,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. I read your blog and you have such a great attitude. I located you on Twitter and on Facebook. I can’t wait to get to know you better as we both continue living the life God has set for us.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

