Looking for Opportunities

First let me offer a disclaimer that I am not usually a big fan of reality shows, I’m not sure why I just prefer more scripted shows and they are usually crime related or something I can analyze. That being said, however, I started watching Dancing With the Stars (DWTS) the season Donnie Osmond and Melissa Joan Hart were on, but I was a regular viewer and didn’t watch it any more until this season when I learned the great NFL Arizona Cardinals retired quarterback Kurt Warner was going to be on there as a dancer to represent Jesus. Kurt is a Christian and appears to be very solid in his faith. I use the word “appears” only because I have not met him. He caught some flack for doing this show because of the costumes, some of the dance moves and behaviors. He took the time to reach out to his fans and critics and provided a two page explanation of why he and his wife felt this was the arena God wanted him in for this time in his life. Of course, then he received flack for such a long explanation. This past Monday night Kurt and his partner on DWTS was in last place and I assumed would be voted off on Tuesday evening. Knowing what he could be facing Tuesday evening Kurt put this Tweet out

“Who’s ready 4 a little fun 2night? Stay positive – Stay on we keep representing Jesus – Voted off We represent him in next arena! Can’t wait

That has stuck with me all this week as I continue my recovery process from the cancer treatments and the set backs from the other illnesses. That is really what it is all about…I have to continue reminding myself that it isn’t about me…it’s about how I can use whatever circumstance and place I am in to serve God and make sure He receives all the Glory. If God wants me to write, then I need to write, if it is start a new ministry then I need to watch for the opportunities. Instead of looking at the closing of my business as me being a failure and my health sticking me in a hospital bed as not allowing me to be the kind of wife and mother I was and being a failure in that category as well I need to look for the positives. I have much more time to listen to God if I just would pay attention. Here has become my new prayer each day…God where do you want me to serve now? Please show me the opportunities you have for me in these circumstances.

How about you, are you looking at the negative in something where there may be an opportunity?

As a side note…yes, Bill go ahead with your comments on my football problem (my pastor, Bill “cycleguy” Grandi” is sure I have an NFL addiction problem since I watch the NFL Network everyday and I plan my Sunday and Monday night around the NFL schedule as much as I can…including using my DVR if necessary ๐Ÿ™‚ I say I’m just another devoted fan). I still love you and Jo like crazy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bill (cycleguy)
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 10:01:30

    Your real problem Danay’e is not so much that you are a football FANATIC but that you are a football fanatic for the wrong team. You know I could really care less about football but if you would cheer for the Steelers instead of…what is that team from Indy?…I would go a whole lot easier on you. But you also just told on yourself since I didn’t know you watched that much NFL football. ๐Ÿ™‚ Now I KNOW you have a problem. That being said…never stop growing. never stop seeking God’s face. Never stop seeking His plan. It will all come together some day.

    Reply

  2. Kristen
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 07:29:27

    Danay’e,

    It is so true- I am lookiung at my loss of job as as failure, but have to realize God has something better in store for me and I pray daily for His will in my life, not my own. I pray you too will hold on to His will for your life and strength of his love for you. I am praying for your health and recovery.
    Love ya- Kristen

    Reply

  3. sally
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 11:58:26

    Amen. Say it girl. With God all things are possible.

    Reply

  4. Meg
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 20:07:36

    Please keep writing. I always enjoy “hearing” from you. May God bless you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

