Confirming and Encouraging

I decided to have a new outlook starting January 1, 2011. It wasn’t making New Year’s resolutions but I figured it would be a great time to train my mind that the past was just that, the past. One of the things I decided I wanted to do this year was to give more attention to my writing and to make sure I was taking it seriously, this was to include blogging daily or at least several times a week. Well as I started to revamp the look of my blog (another fresh start in my mind) toward the end of 2010 the enemy had other plans, including three procedures/surgeries and one illness after another. So far 2011 has started off with other issues, some good and some not so good including a sinus/viral infection that has been continuously making its rounds in the house for the past four weeks.

Even during all the issues I had one particular blog friend (I’m so grateful to all of my readers) that kept staying on my mind. I knew that she and I connected because of her reading my blog so if, for no other reason I really wanted to get back at it, praying she hadn’t given up on me and quit subscribing or checking it for new posts. I so want to stay in contact with her and get to know her more.

Since I did not get to start in January with the new blog I had almost convinced myself that it was silly to even start back up. To justify the decision, I had many reasons or rather the enemy had provided me with so many excuses/lies such as:

1. You have lost all your readers (not that I had many to start with) because you have waited so long to post.

2. Your health isn’t going to allow you to blog often enough for it to matter.

3. You don’t have anything important to say. This was not what you were to do with your life.

4. You don’t have time, you need to wait until….(you can fill in the blank)

I’m sure you hear many of the same “lies” in one way or another as you go about your daily lives. The one thing I love is Jesus is ALWAYS faithful, and if I will pay attention he will usually give me a confirmation, if it is what He wants, and I continue to second guess if I am doing the right thing. Just as in the past He came through once again a few days ago.

It was a day I wasn’t feeling well but was looking at other blogs trying to get caught up on my reading when my phone went off with a notification that someone had left a blog comment. Guess who it was? It was the friend that I have thought about for many weeks. She asked me to continue writing because she enjoyed hearing from me. WOW!!! First off, what a way for our Heavenly Father to send a confirmation but also what a way to make me feel like I was walking on air. I couldn’t help but think, me??? Someone enjoys hearing from me??? Needless to say her taking that time to write that one sentence has meant all the difference to me.

You may never know how much you have encouraged someone or maybe confirmed something they had been on the fence about, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t go ahead and do so. Who have you encouraged recently? If you are the one that received the confirmation or encouragement have you taken the time to let the one that encouraged you know?

Thank you Meg for taking the time, you don’t know how much helped and what it means to me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 19:59:35

    Danay’e, I am so glad that my comment reached you at a time when you needed it. God IS so faithful to us. I am sorry to hear of the illnesses you (and your family) have been going through. You are an inspiration to me. Please continue to take care of yourself. I am praying for God to bless you and give you peace. Love, Meg

    Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 01:44:39

      Meg,

      Thank you again for taking the time and for the kind words, I owe all my strength to God. You are right God is faithful, I’m so grateful I’ve started really understanding that over the past few years. I hope you are doing well.

      Love,

      Danay’e

      Reply

Leave a Reply

