Do You Have Your Word, if so What is it? Also, Will you be one of my five WINNERS?

Over the years I hear people talk about asking God for a word. “A word,’ I thought. Then the Bible study teachers, friends, those that had been talking about the “word” finally explained it. The “word” is the one they ask God for or He just gives them while they prepare for the next year. Of course, this may not work for everyone, others may have their own way of working things with God, but I kept thinking about this “word” and what would that be like. Then over time when I was gathering details on how this “word” thing worked, the different people listed the words, trust, fear, patience, faith, confidence, friendship, obedience, and on they went, I thought well I need to work on all of these along with many more so God how do we just work on one? How can I do any work for you, Lord when I have so much to work on? The Lord provided His response “Since you will never be perfect this side of Glory you will always have work to do with me, but that doesn’t mean you can’t work for me at the same time.” From that moment on I try to always ask God and wait to hear what we will be working on next. It doesn’t mean we only work on one thing for a year, we work on it as long as God feels we need too. As an example the word Fear we ended up working on for over two years. I’ve also learned in God’s sense of humor ways, I can think we are done with an issue and it can come right back and we are working on it again or sometimes we are working on more than one issue at a time. This past year God kept putting Psalm 25 and Psalm 91 on my heart frequently and I would even go to sleep at night having them read to me by my IPhone. You only have to read as far as the first couple of verses of each of those chapters to find out David is talking about his Trust in God. God helped me to see I was great at telling others to trust Him, and great at trusting Him in some matters, but not in ALL THINGS. So needless to say when I tried to get a new word from God for 2014 He kept telling me” Psalm 25 and Psalm 91 Trust”. My response was “but God look at all the places I learned to trust you this year. I’ve trusted you in all the medical things, I’ve started a chemo plan potentially for life, I’ve trusted you with my family issues, I trusted you with financial issues.” Finally, God was able to get a word in and was saying “hush! You may have trusted me during some of those issues but that is what you get for thinking!! I don’t think you want me to sit here and list all the times in 2013 alone that you didn’t trust me, now do you? We still have a lot of work to do and no that doesn’t mean your work with fear and faith is over because you will deal with fear and many of the other issues while you are working on trusting me even more and in all areas.” Ouch, well I guess my hoping for an adventure is at least going to come true, God must have one good adventure one planned for me with all the things He has been sending our way the last few months. We are trying to stay focused on Him, His adventure and what all He has planned for us in 2014. I hope you will all decide to follow along with us as we take this ride.

What about you, do you have any idea what you and God may be working on this year? If so how do you go about finding out what He may want you to work on with Him?

Five people that comment will be given their choice of a prize. If we only get five replies then you will all win! 🙂 If more than five reply I will use a program, enter all the names and let it pick the five names at random. I will give you the name of the program I use if we need to do that.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 09:02:55

    I’ve used different “words” in the past, they helped me to stay focused when everything seemed to be falling apart. Joy has been my word for a while now, a reminder for me to choose joy in every circumstance. This year my word is “moments”, naming the moments that take my breath away. Like last night it was my 19 yr old son unexpectedly coming to church. It was that moment I heard his Jeep turn into the church parking lot.

    Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Jan 02, 2014 @ 15:34:48

      Deborah,

      I agree, the scriptures God provides me with in regards to my “word” there have been times I don’t know what I would have done without them. I guess God knew I would need them and that is why we were working on that area at the the time. Wow, what a great moment to start the year with, please keep me posted on your moments I can’t wait to see all God provides for you.

      Reply

  2. Michelle V
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 11:32:35

    Love it Danaye, seems everyone is talking about their one word. I to had been thinking this over the last few days. Always hard to pick just one. But I think my word for 2014 is “focus”. I need to focus on Him first and foremost. And then on down the line. Focus is a big thing for me. I tend to stray…need to keep my attention on what I am doing and truly focus. Giving my full attention, not half heartedly or trying to multi-task while I am working on something but truly focus. Only then am I going to re-tain what I am studying or learning. Only then am I going to be truly listening to what God is saying to me. Focus and then follow through…
    hugs 🙂

    Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Jan 02, 2014 @ 16:10:54

      Michelle,

      I loved seeing your response today! Thanks for taking the time to drop by. I can understand the need to focus. I find if I can at least focus on time with God first thing before I start anything else then the rest of my day progresses fairly well for me no matter what comes up. That doesn’t always mean I get that time first thing, many days it can be noon before things settle here and I can start but I also know when I try to do my day first then my time with God, things are not that great for me and many times, God gets left out of the day.

      Reply

    • My Cup of Grace
      Jan 03, 2014 @ 12:32:09

      Michelle & Deborah,

      You both were one of my five people between here and Bloggy Moms to comment. Please let me know if you would like a new Journal or a Sarah Young Devotional book like Jesus Calling or Jesus Today. Please also let me know if you have a Kindle App that you use. As soon as I have your answer I will be able to get your prize package ready for you. Thank you so much for stopping by

      Reply

  3. Deborah
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 20:00:13

    Thank you so much! We have chatted over Twitter and you got all my info. I do have a Kindle that I use.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

